Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (4) - TV Shows (1)

The Class review

Posted : 4 years, 4 months ago on 16 April 2013 06:24 (A review of The Class)

Shockingly eye-opening movie.
This is the perfect example of how bullying in school can get to a point where it turns into harassment, mental and physical.
Not only does it show us, the brutality and force with which the whole class crushes one individual, but we also get to see the victim's background, his thoughts and aspirations.
Despite the cruel ending, we can all identify with Joosep and find some innocent motives (God's law) even in his very deed of revenge.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Django Unchained review

Posted : 4 years, 4 months ago on 6 April 2013 01:34 (A review of Django Unchained)

Oh I loved this movie! The director, actors and the whole staff (music, scenery, costumes, etc.) did an amazing job. I love how it deals with the issue of slavery and emancipation with a humorist twist to it, but at the same time not offending anybody. The main characters being, a white German and an enslaved African, there's no division between bad and good characters, based on skin colors. The morals of men are put in the first place. It doesn't make you a bad person if you are white, nor does it make you a good, innocent, naive person if you were black, back in the days of slavery. It was all up to the people, how they chose to live and what values they chose to stick too.
I loved the reference to "The Three Musketeers". All the characters are extraordinarily unique and fascinating, with an amazingly wrung storyline and script. Love the dialogues: the southern and the African English accents. Great job Quentin Tarantino, you've outdone yourself on this one.
Even though, I'm not a fan of all the gore and blood in Tarantino's films, I can easily look over that when it comes to Django. You can tell, I obviously loved the movie, with its romantic plot forming the basis and the background for all the trouble Django is going through in order to rescue his wife and true love.
Plus point: no rape scenes shown.
Jamie Fox was an excellent choice for the role of Django and Kerry Washington, a beautiful African-American woman, I wouldn't have chosen anyone else, great couple.
Loved the happy ending!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tess of the D'Urbervilles review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 31 May 2011 07:07 (A review of Tess of the D'Urbervilles)

A great adaptation of Thomas Hardy's novel. I think Gemma Arterton was the perfect choice. She's sweet, pure and innocent, very close to Hardy's description of Tess. I loved her acting as well, very truthful.
But the male characters are a bit disappointing in the sense that they are not as close to the original characters. There are some variation in scenes and dialogues too.
All in all it's an enjoyable watch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

All Good Things review

Posted : 6 years, 2 months ago on 25 May 2011 06:14 (A review of All Good Things)

This is a really disturbing movie and the fact that it's based on real events makes it even more disturbing. How is it possible for someone to get away with triple murder and at the same time being so obvious, maybe it's the lack of evidence or maybe it's just money.

Well it does get a plus for the acting, there's some really really good acting, but the storyline is lame, but I can understand that the reason for that is trying to give a realistic portrayal of things as they happened.

This movie will leave you pondering about some things. Although it's not that entertaining, I think it should be appreciated for bringing such a story closer to the audience.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Black Swan review

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 15 May 2011 05:09 (A review of Black Swan)

I'm really and truely amazed by this movie. It didn't come short of my expections. It's the kind of genre I love most: dance, gloomy, thriller and a bit of self-discovery.
All of the cast did an awesome job, but i have to say that I'm fascinated by Natalie Portman. She's such a gifted actress. By the way she took two years of ballet lessons, just to be able to take the lead role of the Black Swan. Nevertheless, to me it seemed like she has done nothing else all her life. The only remark I could possibly have is that the sexual scenes are a bit too explicit, they could have been screened a bit more descretely. But by and by it was astonishing and the suspense never subsided. The ending was also just perfect.
We see the stuggles of a girl becoming a woman in an overly demanding environment, and above all she's being pulled to different sides, each demanding of her to do the opposite. She finds it hard to find her true self and please everyone. Her aiming for perfection, ironically lead to her destruction, but there's some sort of pleasure in that too. It's seems to be the only way to perform the "Black Swan" to the extreme acutness.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block